Chocolate Chip Cookies

If you know me, you know that I love chocolate. And if I turn it down, there must be something wrong. Naturally, I love baking, and there’s nothing better than spending a full day in the kitchen covered in flour and creating little dollops of heaven.

Usually I don’t share my recipes…. especially for my snickerdoodles. Sorry fam, that one will never be released. But… considering I just spent the whole day fiddling around with ingredients and recipes, I have to tell someone! If you’re like me, you have a deep appreciation for healthy alternatives to old school, homey dishes.

When I found out you could use zucchini instead of spaghetti, I nearly cried.

Not only can my stomach not handle “regular” food as much as my middle school days (filled with cosmic brownies and dunkaroos… hi heaven), my whole body gets a little jittery and cray cray when I eat desserts filled with sugars and other ingredients that make everything sooooo delicious. So, what else would I do with my Sunday than find an alternative recipe for chocolate chip cookies? Cause chocolate.

Whenever I make my healthy treats, I map out all of the ingredients necessary, and the calories, protein, carbs, fats, fiber and sugars. And then the magic happens. I compare, I find alternatives, I map out more options, and I create something that makes my belly and body happy.   Without the jitters. That’s not fun.

I took out the best of the best, the recipe on the back of the Nestle chocolate chip bag, #classic. I made my sheet with ingredients and nutritional info, and figured out what we were workin with. If following the recipe exactly, for an entire batch of cookies, you will have 5,962 calories waiting in the oven for you (also contains 314 g fat, 774.6 g carbohydrates, 39 g protein, 553 g sugar and 41 g fiber… like wow). Yes, it smells amazing, it tastes amazing, especially with milk. But… I can fix that.

Side note: I know what you’re thinking. “Ames, I’ll never eat an entire batch by myself.” OK, cool. But these things add up. 2 cookies throughout the day, 2 cookies after dinner, 1 for kicks and a late night snack… hello 600 calories. So bear with me.

The other day, I spent an hour (yes I said an hour), in the grocery store comparing AFFORDABLE ingredients, looking up background info and taking chances with certain things I thought I could use to bake this weekend. Coconut sugar? Hi stranger, I’ll try you out.

I made about 5 options for this recipe, and picked which one I thought would work best. Basing the ingredient ratios off of the Nestle recipe, I came up with this alternate recipe. Forget about 5,962 calories… I’m talkin 2,792. That’s less than half of the regular recipe. Not to mention other benefits I’ll explain throughout this post. But, now that I’ve got your mouth watering talking about cookies and milk… Leggo.

dsc_0491

dsc_0498

dsc_0513

dsc_0530

dsc_0542

dsc_0544

dsc_0554

dsc_0558

dsc_0569

dsc_0573

dsc_0575

dsc_0585

Ummmmmmmm hi drool.

Now let me explain. Not only is white flour heavily processed, it gives us the risk of disease and has lots of negative effects on our bodies. White flour also has less fiber than wheat flour, which isn’t exactly a good thing. Fiber basically controls our blood sugar, and the more fiber the better. When your blood sugar shoots through the roof, its because the sugar that you consume is being absorbed fast, causing your blood sugar to rise uncontrollably. We want fiber, which lead me to use whole wheat flour. This may make the consistency of the cookie a little more dense and not as airy and fluffy as white flour, but that’s okay… trust me.

Sure, coconut sugar is still sugar. No, you shouldn’t eat tons of it just because its considered to be healthier. BUT, sugar content comes down to glycemic index, which basically means how much sugar or glucose is in the food and therefore how much of an effect it has on your blood sugar. Again, we don’t want our blood sugar to shoot through the roof, so we want to intake foods with a lower glycemic index. Sweet potatoes vs mac and cheese. Can you guess which is which?  This can be replaced for brown sugar and white sugar 🙂

Butter……. but why. An entire stick of butter has 800 calories. And this recipe calls for 2. NOT OK and definitely not the best fat option to use in baking. I always use unsweetened applesauce to substitute oil and butter. It does make the final product a bit more moist, and no it does not make it taste like apples.   But I wouldn’t complain.  This takes the cookies texture from “dense” to spongy.  Sooooo much yummmms.

Lastly, I LOVE this Lily’s chocolate. Lily’s is sweetened with Stevia, and I thought I would never like this because Stevia just has… that taste. I’m not into it. But this chocolate is actually really, really good. Not to mention, it’s gluten free and non GMO (meaning it isn’t genetically modified… ew).

Clearly, I was totally in a Valentine’s Day mood today, and this is the perfect dessert to make for your lover to keep their blood sugar in check and to not load up on those sugary treats. Avoid being a jitterbug like me 🙂

dsc_0589

Makes approximately 58 cookies (each serving is 1 tablespoon of mix), and contains 48 calories, 1.3 g of fat, 10 g of carbohydrates, 1 g of protein, 4.2 g of sugar and 1.3 g of fiber. Enjoy with a glass of unsweetened almond milk for only an additional 30 calories 🙂 or, red wine if you’re feeling romantic.

Call me Cupid.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Court says:

    I want to make these!! Have you ever used Greek yogurt in place of oil or butter? It’s a staple in our house just wonder what it would do in this recipie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

